As we begin a new year

The holidays are now over and it’s time to get back to business I guess.  My granddaughter starts back to college on Monday and I have several things around the house I have to catch up on.  I did quite a bit during the holidays, but still have a few more things to do.

We took down all the decorations and packed them away – I have to lug them up into the attic for another year.  I installed our new shower head which replaces the old one that had gotten completely clogged up with a rust-like substance that comes from our well.  We were getting hardly any water through it.  The replacement is a nice one.

A little bit of furniture reorganization in the living room was the order of the day for a couple of days.  Now things are different and I have to make sure I can navigate it with the lights out.  Shins beware.  I like the way it is now though as it is easier for more people to watch TV than before.

It’s been very cold and wet lately.  Today shows nothing but a lot of fog and drizzle.  I don’t have to go out in it though whais is a relief. I might have to drag out the SlideWalk and set it up in the basement so I can get exercise without bundling up.  The really good food we snaffled down over the last two weeks is showing up in the expected places so I need to pare it back off again.  Why is it that it seems to go on so easily, but is so much more difficult to remove?

My friend Pete over in the UK is enjoying all the various bread and biscuit mixes we sent him.  Now that we have him hooked, we’ll have to provide more from time to time.  Just let us know.

A couple of Murray’s friends went missing during the packing of tree decorations.  I think they might have gone during the night.  Murray is still there, but Basher and Sleazy are gone.  I couldn’t find anything but antlers, noses, and four googly eyes.  Must have been the cats.  Yeah, I’ll blame the cats.

On a more technical note:  My new laptop, which runs Vista SP1, has a strange hangup.  Some of the time, when I turn off the wireless adapter and plug in a CAT-5 cable, it will not connect and tells me that I am not connected to any networks.  When I try and “connect to a network” I am told “No wireless networks are available”.  Well, shoot, I wonder why – could it be that I’ve turned off the wireless adapter?  Maybe?  Perhaps?  No amount of coercion will force the computer to even TRY and connect using the cable.  Rebooting produces just another icon with a red X through it.

The first thing it will tell you when trying to “connect to a network” is that my adapter is turned off and to turn it on. Well, damn, why didn’t I think of that!  There appears to be no way to tell it to use the wired adapter.  Apparently Vista is too stupid (or too arrogant) to think that anyone would actually WANT to use a wired connection instead of a new, modern, wireless connection.  XP gave you the choice of using either a wired or wireless adapter but Vista has conveniently gotten rid of the wired option.  Very frustrating.

I may have gotten it working by disabling the wired adapter in Device Manager, rebooting, and re-enabling it.  I am now using the wired connection but I’m wondering what will happen if I reboot.

My new Train Simulator (TRS2009) came Saturday!  It installed and runs perfectly.  Now I can catch up with the rest of my group that are busily reproducing the Chicago Tunnel Company trackage which ran under the streets of Chicago’s Loop area ever since the turn of the century (last century that is).  There is a surprising amount of information on this unique system  It carried no passengers, but, instead, serviced a great number of businesses and other services (like the US Mail) with such diverse things as store goods, commodities, coal, ash haulage, and other stuff.  We have done a lot of work on it and hope to have it ready soon.

1310.  Time to get something to eat.  I’ve been running on empty since breakfast a long time ago.  Once that is done, we are heading over to Wal-Mart to pick up some shower curtain rings so we can hang a couple of them downstairs around our hot tub.  They help block the wind.

3 thoughts on “As we begin a new year

  1. 😆 ‘Hooked’ is the word, especially the chocolate ones!
    But I’m taking it easy with this second lot, having a ‘treat’ instead of being a pig! 😳

    I’ll get TRS2009 when I can afford it Bill, I’ll have more of an idea when I get my first gas & electric bills for the new abode 😦

  2. I have a completely new, shrink-wrapped, copy of TRS2006 that I got for the unbelievable price of $2. It was marked down, I think by mistake, and thrown into a bin of old Win98/XP games. If you know anyone who would like it (gratis) I’d be happy to sent it to them.

  3. Don’t know anyone who wants TRS2006 around here Bill, they all seem to be going to TC3 or ’09 now, stick it on freecycle or hang onto it for ‘posterity’ 😆

Comments are closed.