First snowfall this year

It wasn’t much, but it was the first snow to fall this year.  The storm blew through in about an hour right after the temperature dropped almost 15 degrees – down to 28.  This was two days ago and now the temperature this morning is a steady 16.  Wind chill makes it seem as if it was 12, but, actually, is there any difference between 16 and 12 when you’re outside?

The gloomy day kept up until about an hour after the snow and then the sun came out.  Didn’t melt the snow though.

My huge woodpecker friend came back but stayed mostly in the tree out front.  He started on one side, worked his way around the trunk, and then hopped from one branch to another.  All the while pecking at, presumably, bugs; or, at least looking for them.

Bill

3 thoughts on “First snowfall this year

    • He and I have had a working relationship for a couple of years. He likes the suet block I put out and lets me take pictures. In the summer I can hear him ticking on the bark looking for bugs. His wife appears from time to time but she’s pretty shy.

      Bill

  1. Lovely Woodpecker shots Bill! I see one every other day but only if I’m queit and quick! lol
    Happy New Year Bill.

Comments are closed.