Terrible Blogger am I

I just realized that I hadn’t posted anything since May 22.  The summer doldrums just got to me.  As the days lengthened, and the heat rose up into the mid-eighties and higher, with the increase in humidity, I just got lazy.  I’ve been spending a lot of time during the last six weeks working over at a friend’s house.  She was widowed about fifteen years ago and finally moved out of town (to Washington state actually) and asked me to take care of her property until she can sell it.  The property is covered with huge trees and encompasses almost three acres of land (plus the house).  The house itself was partially built in the 1880’s with a more modern addition added around the mid-1970’s.  Brambles, wildflowers, huge bundles of lilac bushes that are almost trees themselves, and loads of poison plants like ivy and sumac abound.

I managed to get a very healthy dose of poison sumac the other day.  I was being very careful, but a vine of it fell from a tree as I was pulling it down and caught me across the forearms and forehead.  Now my whole left eye is puffed up with blisters all over the place not to mention stripes of clear blisters across my lower arms.  It itches like hell and the tendency is to scratch but that only serves to spread it around so I have to occasionally hit it with rubbing alcohol and Calamine Lotion.  Wooh!  That really stings, but sure feels good after I quit screaming.

I’ve also painted pretty much every building in the yard at least one coat and mowed down the thigh-high weeds in the back yard.  I spent one whole day pressure washing the black mold and moss off the back deck timbers too.  I now have most of it under control now so I can relax a little and wait for the grass to grow up enough so I can cut it.

If anyone wants to know, this property lies in the middle of Beavercreek here in Ohio and can be purchased for a measly $250K.  That is an extremely good price for a medium-sized house with four bedrooms, two baths, two kitchens and two stories.  The upper story can be blocked off at the stairs to make a complete apartment available for rent.  I have pictures if anyone wants to see what it looks like.

I will try to give more attention to the blog than I have in the past few months.

Bill

4 thoughts on “Terrible Blogger am I

  1. Sure hope you don’t itch too much!! I was stung by 4 wasps last summer and it hurt, ached and itched all at the same time. I mixed up baking soda paste but then your itch is probably more wide spread. Hope it didn’t spre3ad to Lorna on your anniversary!! By the way>>>>> how was the movie??

    • It itches like I’ve been immersed in live bunnies and they’re trying to get away from me. The Calamine Lotion helps, but it wears off fairly soon. Nope, didn’t spread because I’m real careful. The movie was so-so. Tim Allen is one of my favorites, but he directed this one. He should have stayed off camera this time and simply directed it. The characters were almost caricatures of themselves. Truth be told – Sigourney Weaver carried the movie. Tim looked almost unwell at times. It was funny, but not up to Tim Allen’s standards.

  2. I struggle with the summer doldrums as well! Anyway it’s good to know that you’re okay, despite that mishap, and have been keeping busy. Cheers!

Comments are closed.