Happy fall to you

As it was pointed out on the news today, the autumnal equinox occurred at twenty-three-something last night.  The time is, of course, in Eastern Daylight Time.  For one, I am fairly happy to see this summer go away.  It has been a very hot and muggy summer.  It was pretty much full of days where you didn’t even want to go outside for any reason.  If you did, you’d be covered in sweat perspiration, and your clothes would hang on you like burlap bags.

I notice that Flighty’s post today (http://flightplot.wordpress.com/) holds a wonderful picture of ‘punkins’; the traditional Autumn and October vegetable.  Somehow, I just can’t bring myself to call them by their proper name of pumpkins.  I’ve always called them the diminutive of punkin.  My dad used the term as well as his dad when he grew them on his farm out in Colorado.  Like Flighty, I’m not all the keen on punkins, but they make a great severed head for Halloween.

It is still  muggy and hot outside.  Yesterday it hit 95 degrees and it is supposed to be this way for the rest of the week.  We had a touch of rain, but it pretty much steamed up from the ground right as it hit.  I don’t see any more on the way for us for the rest of the week.  There is a storm system to the west of us, but it seems to be carrying northwards up into the Michigan peninsula and will probably cross the border into Canada instead of coming this way.

The house and grounds I am caring for is once again up for sale.  The price has been reduced drastically down to around $215K.  If I had the money, that would sound attractive to me for a historic house and just a hair under 3 acres of huge trees.  Since I’m the ‘caretaker’ I’ve been asked to get it ready for tours by making sure all the doors close properly and the floors are nice and clean – that sort of thing.  Since the house as been vacant for so long, and the heating/cooling has been turned off, some of the frames around the doors have warped slightly.  I need to touch them up with a little filing or planing so they will close.  I am told that doors not closing is a big turn-off for potential house buyers.

Well, breakfast is done, so I guess it’s time for me to get moving over to the house and begin working on it.

Bill

2 thoughts on “Happy fall to you

  1. A happy fall to you too, and many thanks for the linked mention!
    I like the word ‘punkin’, and it seems that there’s plenty of folks not that keen on them.
    95C is way too hot for me, especially so if it’s humid as well!
    Take care!

  2. Hmmm. 95C is way to hot for me also. That’s about 203F.

    Actually, it was only 35C on that day. Since that post, temperatures have been dropping way down. Just today it is only 65F.

    Bill

Comments are closed.