Ok, I admit it. I was wrong.

I finally got Cometdocs to work.  Apparently, the method they USED to use was to send you an email with a link to your converted document.  That has gone by the wayside I guess.  What you do now is upload your document and then haunt the next tab over (called ‘File manager’) and wait for your document to finish processing.  Then, you click on the provided link and download it back to your computer.  This, to me, is a much cleaner way to do it anyway.

On this tab, you are also offered the choice of leaving your original and the converted docs up there or deleting them.  This is a good thing.  I have found. also, that you don’t get the File Manager unless you are logged in to their site.  If you are a casual user (haven’t created an account), I haven’t a clue how you get your converted document back.  Maybe you don’t.

In any case, I stand corrected.  I was able to convert some pesky XPS documents into something I could actually modify in a DOC format and save it.

Bill

2 thoughts on “Ok, I admit it. I was wrong.

  1. Ok Bill, well I gave up on the whole thing because I dont have time in my day to try to figure out all this crap about getting a computer program to actually work. It should just do what it advertises its going to do and people wouldn’t have to go to bed and worry about the stuff they sent to be transferred. Im thinking it never went through to anywhere and yet today now its 7:17 pm, i havent gotten any email or notification even after emailing to cometdocs support email address. No response at all, none. This is bad business to begin with. So yeah I am done with cometdocs all together.

    • Actually, I found out about them not replying by email any more by checking into their forum and asking. One nice soul answered me and said that they’d stopped emailing about six months earlier. The very least they could have done was update their web site. A real class act, they are.

Comments are closed.