Here’s some insanity for you…

Yesterday, while working in my back yard, my hearing aid fell out of my ear and dropped to the ground.  I (among others) spent around three hours searching for it with no luck.  Today, I called the VA for a replacement.

Here’s how our tax dollars are spent:

The VA will not give me a new set of hearing aids without a complete physical.  That, in itself, isn’t too bad because at my age you can’t get too many physicals BUT instead of picking up the phone and requesting the pertinent records be faxed over from the hospital at Wright-Patterson (I had a physical four moths ago), the VA requires that THEY do all the work – which effectively duplicates every bit of work already done.

The VA is always yammering about “how crowded they are” and “how they can’t possibly deal with all the veterans who apply” so why in hell do they ‘require’ someone who already has a complete medical history to come all the way across town and get yet another physical workup at their hospital?  I have no idea how much time, effort, and money is spent doing this, but it certainly could be eliminated with a simple phone call and a facsimile machine.

So, here’s how things stand:

1) I have to wait until the 10th of September for the physical (in the AM) and a new hearing test (in the PM — which I could use since my last one was three years ago for renewal of my disability)

2) In the interval, I will have to go back to reading lips to understand completely what everyone is saying since I only have one hearing aid.

3) Last time (when I broke one of hearing aids by stepping on it when IT fell out of my ear) it took a grand total of two weeks to replace it.  Now, apparently, the VA has had “updated procedures” they have to follow that were dictated by the head bureaucrat-in-charge-of-government-spending-of-our-tax-dollars.

Talk about government boondoggles, this one is the boondoggliest.

 

